What is State Unemployment Tax?

SUTA stands for the State Unemployment Tax Act. It is required of all employers to pay this payroll tax. On behalf of their employees, the money is deposited into the state unemployment fund. When people speak to receiving unemployment benefits, they are referring to payments they receive from SUTA funds after losing their jobs. To provide unemployment benefits to relocated workers, SUTA was established. States spend money to provide unemployed workers with unemployment insurance payouts.

States may also use the following terms to describe SUTA tax:

  • State unemployment insurance
  • SUI
  • Reemployment tax

Who Pays the State Unemployment Tax?

SUTA or SUI is an employer-only tax in the majority of states. However, SUI tax is also due from employees in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Alaska. If you have workers in any of these three states, you must deduct the SUTA tax from their paychecks and pay it to the appropriate state.

Certain firms may not be required by some states to pay the SUTA tax. A state might, for instance, exempt nonprofits and companies with a small number of employees from paying state unemployment taxes.

The SUTA pay base and rates are two crucial elements of the SUTA tax that you need to be aware of.

Why do I owe State Taxes for Unemployment?

You could have to pay state income taxes on your unemployment benefits in addition to federal income taxes if you reside in a state that levies one. Your state might tax your unemployment benefits if you don’t reside in one of these 17 states. You can get the individual income tax rate for your state here.

Also, See: State Income Tax

Any Query? Reach Out To Us.

Email Support
Chat Support

Download Now & Get Free Paystub

Stubcreator IOS Application Stubcreator Android Application